Story of my Life

​ Of whom and of what indeed can I say: I know that! This heart within me I can feel, and I judge that it exists. This world I can touch, and I likewise judge that it exists. There ends all my knowledge, and the rest is construction. For if I try to seize this self of which I feel sure, if I try to define and to summarize it, it is nothing but water slipping through my fingers.

Forever I shall be a stranger to myself. In psychology as in logic, there are truths but no truth. Socrates Know thyself has as much value as the Be virtuous of our confessionals. They reveal a nostalgia at the same time as an ignorance. They are sterile exercises on great subjects. They are legitimate only in precisely so far as they are approximate.

Albert Camus                                     

Everyone has their story to write. This is one of lifes undeniable facts. Whoever you are, wherever you are and whenever you are. We write our stories yet, we are never truly our own author neither do we gracefully hold the pen nor foresee the chapters or page numbers to come. We just read history behind and mystery ahead, we see lessons learnt, battles won and lost. 
History shows us who we once were, the present shows us what we have, what we can be and the dark future is but, a sea of ink that desires to bring its words to life. This story has a lot to offer and ponder. It has its fair share of cuts and bruises, cuts to warn us, bruises to make the warming clear. In this story, we have scars, telling us that there is no going back, this is who we are and this is what has flown out of what we do and have experienced.
This story is full of roads and avenues, signposts and directions, many a deceptive way with less a graceful street. It is not he who has no weaknesses in this story that is the strongest, but it is he who rises above them and to achieve this requires great effort, patience, goodness and humility.
In this story, foolishness comes from within oneself. The only true battle is with ones self. To search for justification in others is a dead end. In this story, a soul is always in doubt yet, it holds its own salvation. The first and only enemy is within, as to hate and love ones self is true humility, for the desire to be strong is not the same as striving for strength.
In the words of William Makepeace Thackeray: “There are a thousand thoughts lying within a man that he does not know till he takes up a pen to write.” I see the practice of writing as a slow cumulative and introspective way of accepting my life as valid, of accepting myself over the lifetime I have, of realizing that my life is important, just by virtue of being me. And it is. And it’s all I have – My body and mind are all I ever have for sure.
I find that whether I’m writing essays, poems, books, and articles or reflecting on the pages of my journal, that I gain increased clarity about who I am, what I value, how I know and see the world. 
I tap a deeper thread of meaning in my life that helps me make sense of everything I have ever done and everything that has ever happened to me. It helps me put things in perspective and opens me up to new insights.
The practice of learning and writing gives me access to an expanded way of knowing and acquiring a deeper wisdom. This is a chosen tool of my self-mastery and I embrace it. 
It gives me access to the powerhouse of my subconscious and unconscious thought. It is to me, a great way to get answers to the questions of my heart and mind. It gives me clarity to what I need to know right now and what I can do to better my life and the people around me.
Its a dismissal of personal responsibility to say, There are things I cannot change or that I can’t do right by myself. In reality, there is almost nothing that we cant change. You may not prevail, but just sitting down isnt an option either. Just moving forward, even this act changes the situation, I do this when I write and learn.
What am I going to be before I die, is not a list of fears and questions but, a collection of real experience. One of the keys to truthfully and authentically being myself is recognizing that I am a dynamic process  not a fixed entity.
I write to live and I live to write. Life all starts with me deciding to live, I choose to live and learn, enjoy the experience as it takes me and never be broken by myself or the world. I self-actualize. I am me. I am who I am.

We only have today. 

That is all we are ever promised.

And today, we must write

The real writer within you is waiting.

Jeff Goins

Leave a Reply

